Skip links
Who invented it?

"The reinvented toilet"

An innovative invention from Switzerland

A film that is both Swiss and Asian in character. This makes it immediately clear where the invention comes from and for whom it is intended.

Date

2018

Client

Helbling

Category

Erklärfilm

01 The challenge

Helbling AG has developed a prototype toilet that does not require any sanitary connections at all. The goal was to win the Bill & Melissa Gates Foundation's "reinvent the toilet challenge." The tender was specifically defined for applications in urban regions in Asia.

In order to attract positive attention at the exhibition of its prototype at the event in Beijing, Helbling AG wanted to produce a film that would be convincing both in the run-up to the event and live at the exhibition stand. Winners of the Challenge received funding for further development of the system and its market launch.

02 The solution

After extensive joint research with Helbling AG, we came to the conclusion that a single film could not sufficiently inform about technical details and at the same time create an emotional connection. As a result, we created two moving image experiences for the innovative toilet.

A first teaser explains in a highly aesthetic parallel montage between Switzerland and China the benefits and necessity of the Swiss toilet innovation and its uncomplicated operation. A second pure 3D film made it possible to experience all technical aspects of the prototype virtually live at the trade show booth in Beijing.

03 The result

Helbling AG's prototype was not awarded any funding despite its high-profile appearance. However, Foundation Board President Bill Gates explicitly praised the two Helbling films in his opening speech in Beijing.

A look behind the scenes

With the second film in the series, we explain how exactly this works with the electricity-powered toilet.

Ready to juggle your own project?

We look forward to hearing about your project or idea.
We will be happy to advise you free of charge.

the reinvented toilet

Helbling

Wer hat's erfunden?

Eine innovative Erfindung aus der Schweiz

Ein Film, der zugleich urschweizerische aber auch asiatische Charakterzüge trägt. Damit wird sofort klar, von wo die Erfindung stammt und für wen sie gedacht ist.

blue bokeh background

Das Problem

Die Firma Helbling AG hat einen Toiletten-Prototypen entwickelt, der gänzlich ohne sanitäre Anschlüsse auskommt. Das Ziel war der Gewinn der "reinvent the toilet challenge" der Bill & Melissa Gates Stiftung. Die Ausschreibung war im Speziellen für Anwendungen in urbanen Regionen in Asien definiert.

Um an der Ausstellung ihres Prototypen am Event in Peking positiv aufzufallen, wollte die Helbling AG einen Film produzieren, der sowohl im Vorfeld des Events, wie auch live am Messestand überzeugen kann. Gewinner der Challenge bekamen Fördergelder für die weitere Entwicklung des Systems und deren Markteinführung.

Die Lösung

Nach einer ausgiebigen gemeinsamen Recherche mit der Helbling AG kamen wir zu dem Schluss, dass ein einzelner Film nicht ausreichend über technische Details informieren und gleichzeitig einen emotionalen Bezug schaffen kann. Infolgedessen haben wir zwei Bewegtbilderlebnisse für die innovative Toilette geschaffen.

Ein erster Teaser erklärt in einer hochästhetischen Parallelmontage zwischen der Schweiz und China den Nutzen und die Notwendigkeit der eidgenössischen Toiletten-Innovation und deren unkomplizierte Bedienung.
Ein zweiter reiner 3D-Film hat am Messestand in Peking alle technischen Aspekte des Prototypen quasi live erlebbar gemacht.

Das Ergebnis

Der Prototyp der Helbling AG hat trotz publikumswirksamen Auftritt keine Fördergelder zugesprochen bekommen. Allerdings hat Stiftungsratspräsident Bill Gates die beiden Helbling-Filme in seiner Eröffnungsrede in Peking explizit lobend hervorgehoben.

Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen

Mit dem zweiten Film in der Reihe, erklären wir, wie das mit der strombetriebenen Toilette genau funktioniert.

Bereit Ihr eigenes Projekt zu starten?

Wir freuen uns von Ihrem Projekt oder Ihrer Idee zu hören.
Gerne beraten wir Sie kostenlos.