Skip links

Employer Branding Film: Attracting better applicants

Employer Branding Film: Attracting better applicants

In a rapidly changing job market, employer branding films are the best way to make your company stand out from the crowd and attract the right talent to your team that you need to keep your company running successfully.

The top priority of any employer who can only survive in a competitive labor market with a highly specialized and motivated workforce is to have not only many but, above all, the right candidates interviewing with them.

Credibility is the most important criterion for attracting a confident, new generation of employees to your company. And strong, modern content attracts strong, innovative personalities.

Are you having trouble attracting the right talent?

In an increasingly visual society, recruitment videos are the most efficient tool to qualify your brand and corporate culture externally. A study by HubSpot showed that conversion rates increase by 80% with a marketing film. The proportion of users who don’t just surf and browse, but engage, interact, or buy, almost doubles.

Another study by CareerBuilder also proved that job postings with a video are viewed 12% more often and result in a 34% higher application rate on average.

While both the recruiting film and the employer branding video have the goal of attracting new employees, the recruiting film specifically targets a specific advertised position. The employer branding video, on the other hand, presents the company in general as an attractive employer.

With an employer branding or recruitment film, you attract the attention of precisely the target group that will help you succeed in the long term. And soma is happy to design and produce the right film for it. Now here are some helpful tips from the pros on exactly what to look for in a recruiting film.

Recruiting video: What are the goals?

The most important rule when producing a recruiting video: Be clear about what you are doing. Recruiting videos primarily support employer branding and are intended to convince potential candidates to select your company as a future employer. Often referred to as video testimonials, they exemplify the day-to-day workings of your company. However, many companies still see recruiting videos as advertising or image films and thus cut their own flesh . You won’t get very far with them today.

Three hallmarks of a good recruiting video

It’s no magic trick at all to produce a good video, as long as you keep the following basics in mind:

  • The right factors for an application are listed
  • Authenticity
  • Professional Look and Fee

What factors are important?

The so-called soft factors are particularly important for applicants. In job interviews, people like to talk about “soft skills”, meaning abilities and talents that cannot be expressed in numbers: EG. Creativity, commitment, motivation or diligence. Companies also have such soft skills and these are particularly important to applicants when it comes to deciding on their future jobs.

● Good working atmosphere
● Compatibility of family and career / work-life balance
● Fun in the team
● Flat hierarchies
● Promotion and career opportunities
● Flexible working hours / flexitime
● Flexible workplace design / home office arrangement
● etc.

Your recruiting video is the perfect setting to share such important reasons to apply. Hard facts and cold business ratios have no place here. To put it bluntly: How much sales you made last year, how many locations you have, that you are the market leader in Europe, etc. really doesn’t interest anyone! The fact that there is a foosball table in your meeting room is much more interesting.

Pro tip: Ask your employees how they would convince their friends about your company or why they themselves chose the company at the time. The reasons given will be the same as those for which future applicants will make this decision.

Authenticity

Above all, a recruiting video must be authentic, otherwise it will look untrustworthy. This distinguishes the recruiting video from the image film. The latter usually reflects an embellished and in many cases highly distorted picture of reality. It’s a commercial. And applicants – it must be emphasized once again – do not want to see advertising! It’s much nicer when the employees themselves have their say in the interview and don’t just read image texts from the off.

Pro tip: Avoid scripts and previously written dialogs as much as possible. Let your team speak “off the cuff”. It seems a little less clean, but your video isn’t supposed to be perfect, it’s supposed to be believable. If your audience feels like they’re watching real people they can relate to, you’ve won.

Trafag AG HR Film

Professional look and feel

A “classic” recruiting video looks like this: The main element is a “protagonist”, i.e. an employee who reports on the company. Why she likes working for the company, her personal reasons for choosing the company back then, and what her future plans are. She acts as a brand ambassador for your company and thus actively supports your employer branding. While she is telling the story, you can also show more shots of the workplace or colleagues. Ideally, what is shown matches what is said. So if the current protagonist talks about how much fun it is in the team and how relaxed the atmosphere is, don’t show them at the photocopier, but at table soccer with their colleagues.

Who produces your recruiting video?

Theoretically, you could also set about production yourself. What you need for this: A camera, a reasonably good microphone, and someone who knows a little about video editing. However, it is usually better to turn to a professional. So you can be sure that not only the quality is right in the end. and the necessary emotions are transported. Just about every video production company has recruiting videos in their portfolio.

Pro tip: Recruiting videos are usually 1 to 3 minutes long and don’t focus on too many protagonists at once. Two or three employees in the interview are enough.

Simplicity

The last and perhaps most important piece of advice: a recruiting video doesn’t have to be overly original. What makes a recruiting video: an insight into everyday working life, stories and interviews with colleagues, and pictures of the future workplace. Originality requires the work of professionals. Otherwise, you run the risk of leaving the wrong impression.

Conclusion

Videos are an incredible asset to your recruiting process. Shared in an appealing job posting via facebook or Twitter, or prominently placed on your careers page, you’ll achieve good reach. In addition, videos speak to your applicants much more directly and emotionally. It is important that your video remains authentic and does not degenerate into a soulless image film. Put yourself in your target group’s shoes and try to convey the most important information – this way you will achieve the desired effect and attract suitable and qualified applicants.

Pro tip: Avoid scripts and previously written dialogs as much as possible. Let your team speak “off the cuff”. It seems a little less clean, but your video isn’t supposed to be perfect, it’s supposed to be believable. If your audience feels like they’re watching real people they can relate to, you’ve won.

Leave a comment

Skip links

Employer Branding Film: Bessere Bewerber*innen gewinnen

Employer Branding Film: Bessere Bewerber*innen gewinnen

In einem sich rasant verändernden Arbeitsmarkt sind Employer Branding Filme der beste Weg, Ihr Unternehmen aus der Masse hervorzuheben und die richtigen Talente für Ihr Team zu gewinnen, die Sie für das erfolgreiche Weiterbestehen Ihrer Firma benötigen.

Nicht nur viele, sondern vor allem die richtigen Kandidat*innen bei sich vorsprechen zu lassen, ist die oberste Priorität jedes Arbeitgebers, der nur mit hochspezialisierten und motivierten Arbeitskräften auf einem kompetitiven Arbeitsmarkt bestehen kann.

Glaubwürdigkeit ist das wichtigste Kriterium, um eine selbstbewusste, neue Generation von Arbeitnehmenden für Ihr Unternehmen zu begeistern. Und starker, moderner Content zieht starke, innovative Persönlichkeiten an.

Haben Sie Probleme die richtigen Talente anzusprechen?

In einer zusehends visuellen Gesellschaft sind Recruitment Videos das effizienteste Werkzeug um Ihren Brand und Ihre Unternehmenskultur extern zu qualifizieren. Eine Studie von HubSpot hat gezeigt, dass die Conversion Rates mit einem Marketingfilm um 80% zunehmen. Der Anteil der User*innen, die nicht nur surfen und ein wenig kucken, sondern sich engagieren, interagieren oder kaufen, verdoppelt sich also beinahe.

Eine weitere Studie von CareerBuilder hat zudem nachgewiesen, dass Stellenausschreibungen mit einem Video 12% häufiger angesehen werden und im Durchschnitt eine 34% höhere Bewerbungsrate nach sich ziehen.

Während sowohl der Recruiting Film als auch das Employer Branding Video das Ziel haben, neue Mitarbeitende zu gewinnen, zielt der Recruiting Film dabei ganz konkret auf eine bestimmte ausgeschriebene Stelle ab. Das Employer Branding Video hingegen präsentiert das Unternehmen ganz allgemein als attraktiven Arbeitgeber.

Mit einem Employer Branding oder Recruitment Film, machen Sie genau die Zielgruppe auf sich aufmerksam, die Ihnen langfristig zum Erfolg verhilft. Und soma konzipiert und produziert gerne den passenden Film dafür. Hier nun einige hilfreiche Tipps von den Profis, auf was Sie bei einem Recruiting Film genau beachten sollten.

Recruiting-Video: Was sind die Ziele?

Die wichtigste Regel bei der Produktion eines Recruiting-Videos: Machen Sie sich klar, was Sie da machen. Recruiting-Videos unterstützen in erster Linie das Employer Branding und sollen potentielle Kandidat*innen überzeugen, Ihr Unternehmen als zukünftigen Arbeitgeber auszuwählen. Sie werden oft auch als Videotestimonials bezeichnet, sie stehen beispielhaft für den Arbeitsalltag in Ihrem Unternehmen. Viele Firmen verstehen Recruiting-Videos allerdings nach wie vor als Werbe- oder Imagefilme und schneiden sich damit ins eigene Fleisch. Mit solchen kommen Sie nämlich heute nicht mehr weit.

Drei Kennzeichen eines guten Recruiting-Videos

Dabei ist es überhaupt kein Hexenwerk, ein gutes Video zu produzieren, solange Sie die folgenden Grundlagen beachten:

  • Die richtigen Faktoren für eine Bewerbung sind aufgeführt
  • Authentizität
  • Professioneller Look and Fee

Welche Faktoren sind wichtig?

Wichtig für Bewerber*innen sind vor allem die sogenannten weichen Faktoren. In Vorstellungsgesprächen spricht man gerne von den “Soft Skills” und meint damit Fähigkeiten und Talente, die sich nicht in Zahlen ausdrücken lassen: ZB. Kreativität, Engagement, Motivation oder Fleiß. Auch Unternehmen haben solche Soft Skills und diese sind Bewerber*innen besonders wichtig, wenn es um die Entscheidung für den zukünftigen Arbeitsplatz geht.

● Gutes Arbeitsklima
● Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf / Work-Life-Balance
● Spaß im Team
● Flache Hierarchien
● Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten und Karrierechancen
● Flexible Arbeitszeiten / Gleitzeit
● Flexible Arbeitsplatzgestaltung / Home-Office-Regelung
● usw.

Ihr Recruiting-Video ist der perfekte Rahmen, um solche wichtigen Gründe für eine Bewerbung zu nennen. Hard Facts und kalte Unternehmenskennzahlen haben hier keinen Platz. Überspitzt ausgedrückt: Wieviel Umsatz Sie im letzten Jahr gemacht haben, wieviele Standorte Sie haben, dass Sie in Europa Marktführer sind, usw. interessiert wirklich keinen! Dass in Ihrem Meetingraum ein Kickertisch steht, ist da schon viel interessanter.

Profi-Tipp: Fragen Sie Ihre Mitarbeitenden, wie sie ihre Freunde von Ihrem Unternehmen überzeugen würden oder warum sie sich selbst damals für das Unternehmen entschieden haben. Die genannten Gründe werden dieselben sein, aus denen auch zukünftige Bewerber*innen diese Entscheidung treffen.

Authentizität

Ein Recruiting-Video muss vor allem authentisch sein, sonst wirkt es unglaubwürdig. Das unterscheidet das Recruiting-Video vom Imagefilm. Letzterer spiegelt meist ein aufgehübschtes und in vielen Fällen stark verzerrtes Bild der Wirklichkeit wider. Es ist ein Werbefilm. Und Werbung wollen Bewerber*innen – es muss noch einmal betont werden – nicht sehen! Viel schöner kommt es rüber, wenn die Mitarbeitenden im Interview selbst zu Wort kommen und nicht nur Image-Texte aus dem Off einlesen.

Profi-Tipp: Verzichten Sie so weit wie möglich auf Skripts und zuvor verfasste Dialoge. Lassen Sie Ihr Team “frei von der Leber weg” sprechen. Das wirkt ein bisschen weniger clean, aber Ihr Video soll ja auch nicht perfekt sein, sondern glaubwürdig. Wenn Ihre Zusehenden das Gefühl haben, echte Menschen vor sich zu haben, mit denen sie sich identifizieren können, haben Sie gewonnen.

Trafag AG HR Film

Professioneller Look and Feel

Ein “klassisches” Recruiting-Video sieht so aus: Hauptelement ist ein*e “Protagonist*in”, also ein*e Mitarbeiter*in, die über das Unternehmen berichtet. Warum sie gerne für das Unternehmen arbeitet, aus welchen persönlichen Gründen sie sich damals für die Firma entschieden hat und wie ihre Zukunftspläne aussehen. Sie tritt als Markenbotschafter*in Ihres Unternehmens auf und unterstützt so aktiv Ihr Employer Branding. Während sie erzählt, können Sie auch weitere Aufnahmen vom Arbeitsplatz oder den Kolleg*innen zeigen. Idealerweise passt das Gezeigte zum Gesagten. Spricht die aktuelle Protagonist*in also davon, wieviel Spaß es im Team macht und wie locker die Stimmung ist, zeigen Sie sie nicht am Kopierer, sondern beim Tischfußball mit den Kolleg*innen.

Wer produziert Ihr Recruiting-Video?

Theoretisch könnten Sie sich auch selbst an die Produktion machen. Was Sie dafür brauchen: Eine Kamera, ein halbwegs gutes Mikrofon und jemand, der sich ein wenig mit Videoschnitt auskennt. Besser ist es aber in der Regel, wenn Sie sich an einen Profi wenden. So können Sie sich sicher sein, dass  nicht nur die Qualität am Ende stimmt.  und die nötigen Emotionen transportiert werden. So gut wie jede Videoproduktionsfirma hat auch Recruiting-Videos im Portfolio.

Profi-Tipp: Recruiting-Videos sind in der Regel 1 bis 3 Minuten lang und konzentrieren sich nicht auf zu viele Protagonisten gleichzeitig. Zwei oder drei Mitarbeitende im Interview reichen.

Einfachheit

Der letzte und vielleicht wichtigste Ratschlag: Ein Recruiting-Video muss nicht übermäßig originell sein. Was ein Recruiting-Video ausmacht: Der Einblick in den Arbeitsalltag, Stories und Interviews mit den Kollegen und Bilder vom zukünftigen Arbeitsplatz. Originalität bedarf der Arbeit von Profis. Sonst laufen Sie Gefahr, den falschen Eindruck zu hinterlassen. 

Fazit

Videos sind eine unglaubliche Bereicherung für Ihren Recruiting-Prozess. In einer ansprechenden Stellenausschreibung via facebook oder Twitter geteilt oder prominent auf Ihrer Karriereseite platziert, erzielen Sie damit eine gute Reichweite. Zudem sprechen Videos Ihre Bewerber*innen sehr viel direkter und emotionaler an. Wichtig ist, dass Ihr Video authentisch bleibt und nicht zu einem seelenlosen Imagefilm verkommt. Versetzen Sie sich in Ihre Zielgruppe und versuchen Sie, die wichtigsten Informationen zu vermitteln – so erzielen Sie den gewünschten Effekt und locken passende und qualifizierte Bewerber*innen an. 

Profi-Tipp: Verzichten Sie so weit wie möglich auf Skripts und zuvor verfasste Dialoge. Lassen Sie Ihr Team “frei von der Leber weg” sprechen. Das wirkt ein bisschen weniger clean, aber Ihr Video soll ja auch nicht perfekt sein, sondern glaubwürdig. Wenn Ihre Zusehenden das Gefühl haben, echte Menschen vor sich zu haben, mit denen sie sich identifizieren können, haben Sie gewonnen.

Leave a comment